A non-profit corporation organized exclusively for religious, charitable and educational purposes as specified in section 501(C)(3) of the internal revenue code. Managed and operated by an unpaid board of directors and volunteers.

Kathy In Kenya~~Thursday

Its Thursday evening at 9:15pm and this is the first time that we have to sit down. God has been good to us today. Hopefully the drilling rig will have already arrived in Mambai, so they can begin the well tomorrow morning. Hopefully we are not getting the Kenyan run around, if so, I think the Sango might start digging the well by hand. We spent sometime at the primary school in Mambai this morning as Sango talked with the persons working on the water tank stand and also the headmaster of the school. The kids were out on play time and they became very intriqued by my “orange’ hair and very white skin. They wanted to touch me and feel my hair. I took the opportunity to read the Joseph’s color coat story from scripture. I stood under a tree with 200 children surrounding me. I turned in an circle so that they could all see the picture and with each 360 degree turn I look into the eyes of children who had never seen a picture book. Their eyes were big with wonder and the smile that were on their faces when seeing the next page will be a memory I will never forget. After about 4 or 5 turns I started to pray for these small souls, as they look at the pictures I prayed for them. Such a beautiful gift they gave me. When I gave them permission to touch me they were so excited. The girls said I was so soft, the boys just pinched me. Boy are boys in any country or language.

Then we set out for Shirumba Village, Walter’s home town. We visited the primary school there…..they have no water source. The children bring water (collected from a dirty stream) to school in jugs. We met a young boy who has been crippled since birth, his name is Patrick. Patrick is second in his class, a very smart little boy but one who can’t walk. His mom carries him to school each day, one hour there and one hour home, then another trip at lunch time to bring him his lunch, and finaly a third trip to take him home. What a mother! We are working on a way that we can get them a push/ pull device so that she would not have to carry him. Next we had lunch with Walter and Beatrice and it was a wonderful refreshing time. I know why Walter married Beatrice, he says it was because he loves her, but I know it was for her cooking. What a meal!

We then set out for Sango’s home town, a possible place of next years well. We were to stay at a resort on Lake Victoria but when we arrive, It wasn’t what or where we expected so we turned around and headed back closer to town (Bumala). We found a very nice hotel (Western Ambience hotel) that made room for us and it even has air conditioning. I’ll sleep well tonight!

Comments on: "Kathy In Kenya~~Thursday" (2)

  1. Tom Bruins said:

    Kathy,
    Thank you so much for keeping us informed with your great commentary. May God continue to bless you all as you serve Him there.
    Tom

  2. Amy Karel said:

    What an amazing experience, Kathy! I’t been such a blessing to read your posts. God is at work! Can’t wait to hear what He does next. You’re in our thoughts and prayers!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

A Psalm-a-Day

Seeing the Joy and Praise of the Psalmist

LoveInspiredOutreach

A non-profit corporation organized exclusively for religious, charitable and educational purposes as specified in section 501(C)(3) of the internal revenue code. Managed and operated by an unpaid board of directors and volunteers.

Allendale Outlook

News and Stories from APS

Mobility Worldwide

Empowering People By Providing Mobility & More

